Regional Centres Development Plan

Over the next three to four decades, Western Australia's population is set to double. As part of preparing for this growth and working to decentralise Western Australia's future population, the State Government devised a plan to make regional towns even more attractive places to live in the future.  In July 2011, the then Regional Development Minister Brendon Grylls announced the Regional Centres Development Plan.

The Regional Centres Development Plan (RCDP) is about attracting business, investment and people to support the growth of WA's Regional Centres and SuperTowns. This means a stronger economy and a better quality of life for the people in regional WA – and for the benefit of all Western Australians.

in 2012 a Regional Centres Future Forum was held with the aim to shaping the vision for the future growth of the State’s major regional centres. The aim of the forum was to "develop a vision for the growth of a balanced network of regional centres and to facilitate discussion about how to deliver it". This was to further engage Development Commissions and Local Governments to consider the roles of the major regional towns and cities into the future and how we respond to local and global opportunities and challenges to grow these centres. 

Phase One of the plan was to implement a program to transform towns into SuperTowns. Esperance was selected as one of the nine towns given the SuperTown status and growth Plans have now been prepared for WA's nine SuperTowns which are Boddington, Collie, Esperance, Jurien Bay, Katanning, Manjimup, Margaret River, Morawa and Northam.

The next phase of RCDP will build on work undertaken in the Regional Investment Blueprints to provide the opportunity for economic Growth Plans to be prepared for nine Regional Centres. The Regional Centres are identified in the State Planning Strategy and include Albany, Broome, Greater Bunbury, Busselton, Carnarvon, Geraldton, Kalgoorlie, Kununurra and Mandurah.

Kalgoorlie-Boulder was selected as one of the first 4 regional centres  to take part in the first stage of the project in June 2015,   along with Broome, Geraldton and Greater Bunbury. This first stage has a budget of $7.5 million, funded by Royalties for Regions.