Our Board

Our Board

The Board is the governing body of the Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission and is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the Commission.  The Board considers matters relating to the development of the region and provides advice to the Minister on regional issues.

The Minister for Regional Development is responsible for the appointment of Board Members.

The Board structure comprises of a: 

  • Chair
  • Deputy Chair
  • Four (4) Board members
  • The Director

Board membership


Sabina Shugg
Representative: Community

Board Members

Kate Mills
Deputy Chair
Representative: MinisterialKate Mills - Board Member

Kate works in her local small business and has two young daughters. Living in Kalgoorlie-Boulder for over a decade and travelling extensively across the Goldfields-Esperance region over this time, Kate is well placed to articulate the challenges facing our region.

With a background in community and economic development, Kate looks forward to applying her skills and expertise to the benefit of the commission and region.

Kate has a Social Science degree in Politics and a Commerce Degree in Tourism Management from Curtin University. She is a valuable and proactive member of the Kalgoorlie-Boulder community, making significant contributions through several community groups and Boards.

Terrence Winner
Representative: Community

Shaneane Weldon
Representative: Local Government20191206_124629-(1).jpg

Shaneane is a Wangkatja woman married with four adult children.  Shaneane is also the Managing Director of a contracting business based in the Northern Goldfields. 

A Justice of Peace for 22 years, and Shire Councillor for 15 years, she is an active community member.  At present, Shaneane is the Chairperson for Pakaanu Aboriginal Corporation which is based in Laverton, addressing community social issues based around the 5 pillars of government including education, health, housing, justice and employment.  Pakaannu is currently delivering cultural awareness to corporate and government agencies, working within a cultural framework delivering outcomes benefiting the wider community. 

Shelley Payne
Representative: Local Government

Shelley has served on the Esperance Shire Council since 2017 and has recently completed a Diploma in Local Government (Elected Member).  Shelley-Payne-Profile-Picture-(1).png
Shelley trained as an engineer and holds a Masters in Business and the Environment. She is a qualified auditor for Environmental, Quality and OHS Management Systems.
Shelley has lived in Esperance for 20 years and is married with three children.  Shelley is active within the Esperance community and holds positions with a number of local organisations and is also a Justice of the Peace.

Ross Wood
Representative: Ministerial

Kris Starcevich
GEDC Chief Executive Officer